Personnel

Warren Warren.Warren S. Warren, PhD

James B. Duke Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Radiology, Biomedical Engineering, and Physics

e-mail:  warren.warren@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Warren S. Warren

Martin Fischer.Martin Fischer, PhD

Research Professor

e-mail:  martin.fischer@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Martin Fischer

Research Interests: Exploring novel nonlinear optical contrast mechanisms for high-resolution structural and functional imaging in biomedicine, materials science, and cultural heritage.  Also directs the Advanced Light Imaging and Spectroscopy (ALIS) Facility – http://alis.duke.edu

Simone Degan.Simone Degan, PhD

Research Scientist

e-mail:  simone.degan@duke.edu

Research Interests: Investigating novel in vivo imaging technologies using pre-clinical and clinical trials to detect early melanoma lesions, and MRI applications on lung diseases.

David Grass.David Grass, PhD

Research Associate

e-mail:  david.grass@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: David Grass

Research Interests: Nonlinear optical imaging techniques, pump-probe microscopy and its clinical applications for melanoma, optical levitation, and optomechanics.

Shannon Ericksson.Shannon Eriksson

Graduate Student

e-mail:  shannon.eriksson@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Shannon Eriksson

Research Interests: Utilization of SABRE hyperpolarization techniques to boost MRI signal and probe both physiological and pathological metabolic processes in vivo.

Lucas Everhart

Graduate Student

e-mail:  lucas.everhart@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Luke Everhart

Research Interests:

Heidi Kastenholz.Heidi Kastenholz

Graduate Student

e-mail:  heidi.kastenholz@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Heidi Kastenholz

Research Interests: Investigating the photophysics of carbon-based pigments and multi-layered three-dimensional structures, such as a paintings, using pump-probe microscopy.

Xiaoqing Li.Xiaoqing Li

Graduate Student

e-mail:  xiaoqing.li@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Xiaoqing Li

Research Interests: Producing spin-polarized samples in large amounts with new hyperpolarization techniques to search for light QCD axions and axionlike particles.

Jacob Lindale, PhD

Postdoctoral Associate

e-mail:  jake.lindale@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Jacob Lindale

Research Interests: Implementing novel theoretical and experimental techniques to investigate coherent hyperpolarization dynamics of SABRE, maximizing polarization yield and efficiency of singlet order consumption.

Loren Smith

Graduate Student

e-mail:  loren.smith@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Loren Smith

Research Interests:

Finn Tran

Graduate Student

email: finn.tran@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Finn Tran

Research Interests: Extending the substrate scope of SABRE to biologically relevant small molecules such as amino acids for use in metabonomics and MRI applications.

Yue Zhou.Yue Zhou

Graduate Student

e-mail:  yue.zhou541@duke.edu

Scholars@Duke: Yue Zhou

Research Interests: Applying pump-probe microscopy to image and explore the photo-physics of pigments in artworks.